A range of high-quality resources for Physics and Astronomy are available on the web. Click here for Physics subject specific resources.
- Astronomy Center: Links to a wide range of teaching and learning resources, classified by topic and activity type.
- Astronomy Now: Website for the UK based Astronomy Now magazine.
- Astronomy Picture of the Day: A different astronomy image or photograph each day, accompanied by a short explanation written by a professional astronomer. Index, archive and search function available.
- Astroweb: Database of astronomical internet resources, maintained up to 2010.
- The British Astronomical Association (BAA): Website of the BAA, the UK national amateur astronomical organisation. Details of national events and observing programmes.
- CDS: The astronomical data centre at Strasbourg; hosts the SIMBAD astronomical database.
- European Space Agency: The European Space Agency website. Includes much audiovisual material and ESA publications.
- Heavens Above: Website with satellite and astronomy data, including an interactive sky chart.
- Hubble Site: Official site of the Hubble Telescope, provides news and data.
- Lunar Orbiter Photographic Atlas: Digital archive of the images contained in Bowker and Hughes, Lunar Orbiter Photographic Atlas of the Moon (1971).
- The Mikulski Archive for Space Telescopes (MAST): NASA funded projects which brings together datasets in the fields of optical, ultraviolet, and near-infrared parts of the spectrum.
- NASA: The official website of the National Aeronautics Space Administration. Regular news and data. A number of e-books are freely available covering lots of fields connected to the work of the ISS space station.
- Science Reference Service – Astronomy: A comprehensive guide to astronomical websites curated by The Library of Congress.
- Sky and Telescope: Wide range of astronomy resources, including an interactive sky chart which covers any date from 1600-2400 (this feature requires free registration and JAVA).
- The Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS): Provides three-dimensional maps of the universe, with multi-colour images of one third of the sky, and spectra for more than three million astronomical objects.
- Space.com: A space and astronomy news site.
- UK Students for the Exploration and Development of Space: The UK's national student space society and charity. Supports students across the UK by running space projects and hosting conferences and workshops.
- Universe Today: Space and astronomy news.