A range of high-quality resources for Physics and Astronomy are available on the web. Start exploring them here:
General journal directories
- Journals TOC: Service which provides access to table of contents of many journals.
- TechExpo DIRECTORY OF ENGINEERING AND SCIENTIFIC TRADE TECHNICAL MAGAZINES: A (if some what dated) listing of a range of trade publications, many of them freely available online.
- Coursera: Online courses some are free and some cost money (especially if you want a diploma/certificate)
- EdX: Free online courses from the top universities in the world (for a diploma/certificate it costs money.)
- A Century of Physics: useful resource, including a Timeline of physics, published by the American Physical Society (APS).
- Einstein Archives: online access to Albert Einstein’s scientific and non-scientific manuscripts held by the Albert Einstein Archives.
- The Feynman Lectures on Physics Website: material, including exercises, to supplement the lecture series.
- The Laws List: laws, rules, principles, effects, paradoxes, limits, constants and other related physics and astronomy topics.
- physicsworld.com: useful resource published by the Institute of Physics (IOP).
- MIT OpenCourseWare: Physics: freely available resources from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
- NIST Physical Reference Data: published by the US National Institute of Standards and Technology.
- Science Conferences: the US Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information's (OSTI) Science Conference Proceedings Portal
- Zooniverse: "home to the internet's largest, most popular and most successful citizen science projects".
- European Space Agency: The European Space Agency website. Includes much audiovisual material and ESA publications.
- Heavens Above: Website with satellite and astronomy data, including an interactive sky chart.
- Hubble Site: Official site of the Hubble Telescope, provides news and data.
- The Mikulski Archive for Space Telescopes (MAST): NASA funded projects which brings together datasets in the fields of optical, ultraviolet, and near-infrared parts of the spectrum.
- NASA: The official website of the National Aeronautics Space Administration. Regular news and data. A number of e-books are freely available covering lots of fields connected to the work of the ISS space station.
- Science Reference Service – Astronomy: A comprehensive guide to astronomical websites curated by The Library of Congress.
- Sky and Telescope: Wide range of astronomy resources, including an interactive sky chart which covers any date from 1600-2400 (this feature requires free registration and JAVA).
- Space.com: A space and astronomy news site.
Professional organisations (UK)
Professional organisations (International)
- American Astronomical Society [USA]
- American Institute of Physics (AIP) [USA]
- American Physical Society (APS) [USA]
- Society of Physics Students (SPS) [USA]