A range of high-quality resources for Chemistry are available on the web. Start exploring them here:
General journal directories
- Journals TOC: Service which provides access to table of contents of many journals.
- TechExpo DIRECTORY OF ENGINEERING AND SCIENTIFIC TRADE TECHNICAL MAGAZINES: A (if some what dated) listing of a range of trade publications, many of them freely available online.
- Coursera: Online courses some are free and some cost money (especially if you want a diploma/certificate)
- EdX: Free online courses from the top universities in the world (for a diploma/certificate it costs money.)
- Analytical Sciences Digital Library: This site, funded by the US National Science Foundation (NSF), provides a collection of peer-reviewed analytical science resources for researchers, teachers, students and interested amateurs.
- e-Crystals: The archive for Crystal Structures generated by the Southampton Chemical Crystallography Group and the EPSRC UK National Crystallography Service.
- IUPAC: The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) was formed in 1919 by chemists from industry and academia, who recognized the need for international standardization in chemistry. They publish a series of books, often referred to as the "Colour Books", that deal with various aspects of nomenclature. IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology The online version of the "Gold Book" which collects together terminology definitions from IUPAC recommendations published in the journal Pure and Applied Chemistry and in the other Colour Books. IUPAC Nomenclature This site, based at Queen Mary, provides information on IUPAC recommendations. The full-text of many of the recommendations is also available here.
- Interactive Periodic table: “The Royal Society of Chemistry's interactive periodic table features history, alchemy, podcasts, videos, and data trends across the periodic table.”
- Journal of Visualised Experiments (JoVE): for help with laboratory techniques, a collection of videos demonstrating key experimental methods.
- Learn Chemistry: A free resource for Chemistry teachers and students of all levels, including higher education, hosted by Royal Society of Chemistry.
- Mathematics Support on the Web: A selection of mathematics resources of direct relevance to students of biological and chemical sciences, compiled by QMUL Academic Staff.
- Molecule of the Month: As the name suggests, every month a link to information about a new molecule is added to this site. An alternative collection is available at 3dchem.com.
- NIST Chemistry WebBook: Provides the most comprehensive spectral data collections on the web.
- Organic Chemistry Portal: Offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on important chemicals for organic chemists.
- Organic Synthesis: Provides detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.
- Organometallic HyperTextBook: This site, created by Rob Toreki, is designed as a reference tool for students that are starting out in the area of organometallic chemistry. It includes information on a wide range of topics as well as links to other useful Internet resources.
- Scholarpedia: an academic alternative to Wikipedia - all articles are written by science researchers and reviewed to make sure the information is correct!
- SpectroscopyNOW.com: This site provides links to a wide range of spectroscopy resources. Registration is required for access to some of the resources.
- WebElements: The periodic table of the chemical elements on the web.
- Wolftam Chemistry Glossary: Glossary of Chemistry terms.