A range of high-quality resources for Biological Sciences are available on the web. Start exploring them here:
General journal directories
- Journals TOC: Service which provides access to table of contents of many journals.
- TechExpo DIRECTORY OF ENGINEERING AND SCIENTIFIC TRADE TECHNICAL MAGAZINES: A (if some what dated) listing of a range of trade publications, many of them freely available online.
- Coursera: Online courses some are free and some cost money (especially if you want a diploma/certificate)
- EdX: Free online courses from the top universities in the world (for a diploma/certificate it costs money.)
- Brenda: is the main collection of enzyme functional data that is available to the scientific community. It includes information on enzyme nomenclature, structure, function and molecular properties.
- The Cell Image Library: A large image repository of everything to do with cells.
- Encyclopedia for Life: A site which has as mission to bring together facts about all scientifically named organisms, animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria, in existence on Earth.
- Enzyme Nomenclature: This site provides the recommendations of the Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) on the Nomenlature and Classification of Enzyme-Catalysed Reactions. It contains general information on enzyme nomenclature as well as links to related information sources.
- FishBase: is a database that claims to be able to provide "all you ever wanted to know about fishes". This includes information on fish biology, taxonomy (searching by common and scientific names), morphology, ecology and conservation.
- hhmi BioInteractive: Interactive site, rich with lots of free videos, animations and other resources covering life sciences. From Howard Hughes Medical Institute.
- International Plant Names Index (IPNI): The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants. It is a useful source for checking the spelling and bibliographic details (e.g. where the name was first published, the author(s) of the article and so on) of plant names.
- IUCN Red List of Threatened Species: The Red List assesses the global conservation status of plant and animal species from around the world. It evaluates the extinction risk of thousands of species and subspecies and is recognised as the most authoritative guide to the status of biological diversity.
- MarLIN: MarLIN is an initiative of the Marine Biological Association of the UK that aims to provide the most comprehensive and easily used source of information about marine habitats, communities and species in Britain and Ireland. MarLIN includes a wide range of information such as the statutes and directives relating to marine conservation and resource management, data from marine life surveys and species information.
- Mathematics Support on the Web: A selection of mathematics resources of direct relevance to students of biological and chemical sciences, compiled by QMUL academic staff.
- National Marine Mammal Laboratory: This US laboratory is responsible for conducting research on marine mammals, with a particular focus on the coasts of Oregon, Washington and Alaska. The website includes links to marine mammal information sources and an excellent collection of images.
- Nature - Human Genome Special Issue: This freely available issue of the journal Nature contains the report of the sequencing of the human genome.
- Nature Preceedings: Nature Precedings connects researchers and provides a platform for sharing new and preliminary findings with colleagues on a global scale.
- Omics Gateway: An extensive portal into publications relevant to large-scale biology from journals throughout NPG.
- Online Ethics for Engineering and Science: Full-text repository which aims to help scientists, engineers and people within Academia to understand and address ethical issues within the field of Engineering and Science. Contains a range of resources, such as case studies, multimedia and assessments tools.
- Public Library of Science Journals: (PLOS) Provides open-access, peer-reviewed journals that feature works of exceptional significance in all areas of biological science.
- Science - Human Genome Special Issue: This freely available issue of the journal Science contains the report of the sequencing of the human genome by a group of authors led by Craig Venter of Celera.
- Structural Genomics Knowledgebase: Research data and resources from the Protein Structure Initiative, complemented with structural biology updates from Nature Publishing Group.
- Tree of Life: This site, made up of more than 2000 webpages, contains information about the diversity of organisms on earth. Each page contains information about one group of organisms and the pages are linked together in the form of an evolutionary tree.
- University of California Museum of Paleontology – Online exhibits: Online exhibits focusing on the history of life on earth covering themes like “History through times”, “Understanding Evolution”, and “Understanding Science”
- What is Photosynthesis? This site, produced by Arizona State University, provides links to articles covering all aspects of photosynthesis.